Album Review: “Let Me Explode” by EvoL

“Let Me Explode” (폭파해줘) is the debut 1st mini album from the new highly anticipated girl group EvoL from Brandnew Stardom Entertainment.

(image credit fuckyeahevol tumblr)


  1.  폭파해줘 (Let Me Explode)
  2. I’m sorry
  3. Magnet
  4. 우린 좀 달라 (We Are A Bit Different)


  • Like Block B, BNS did it again with their debut music video. Teases the audience with fierce music, delivers pop. It makes the listeners go hunt down the rest of the tracks though!
  • Well… None of the four songs on the mini album are technically “hip hop” (the closest being Magnet and Let Me Explode).
  • A general trend in the composition of the album: repetition in the songs.
  • There is A LOT more English in the songs than what you think, haha…
  • The girls have pretty strong voices, particularly Jucy, Yull, and Hayana.
  • How much part the did EvoL’s leader, Say, have in the composition of the music I wonder…
  • The album is pretty catchy, definitely an interesting listen.


Continue reading


Kpop Quick Review: I Love You by 2NE1

Quick Review requested by Megan.

I Love You is from 2NE1’s upcoming Korean album.

(image credit tumblr)


  • Whoa, a sweet romantic song from 2NE1? If I didn’t know any better, I would’ve thought there was a revolution within YG Entertainment.
  • I could imagine the producers forcing CL to reduce her usual fierceness in this song, haha.
  • I love you, OOOOOH, ooooh…
  • The music video is oddly sexy…(?)
  • WARNING: Screencap alert below!


Continue reading

Mpop Quick Review: Wild Cursive (狂草) by HanGeng (韓庚)

Wild Cursive, aka Kuang Cao, aka 狂草 is Hangeng’s newest single from his upcoming 2nd Chinese solo album (*will update as soon as info is released and translated :P).


  • The lyrics are incredibly unique and fierce!
  • The song has a semi-epic fight feel to it (I say ‘semi-epic’, for it is energetic enough to fight in (?), but it’s chill enough so that your blood isn’t boiling over).
  • Their weapons of choice in terms of fighting that smoke/ink business are quite amusing hahaha.
  • The song, the video… It is all so interesting!


Continue reading

Kpop Review: La-Di Da-Di by CROSS GENE

(It has been a while hasn’t it? My apologies… I will still be busy this summer, but there will definitely be some new music reviews! – Izzy)

La-Di Da-Di is CROSS GENE’s debut track from their first mini album “Timeless: Begins”.

(left to right: Casper, Yongsuk, Shin, Takuya, Sangmin, and J.G.)


  • A composition of 1 Japanese, 2 Chinese, and 3 Korean guys? Completely digging this.
  • Super catchy song.
  • Super…. Interesting…. Choreography…..
  • Are half of the members part time acrobats/ninjas/bboys?!
  • Powerful and distinct voices! Wow!
  • The most Engrish song I have heard this year of 2012… In fact, it feels like 30-50% of the song is Engrish, haha.


Continue reading

Fangirling: “[AUDIO] Mino & Kyung – Be Quiet” from 7ONTHEBLOCK

Finding the video: Showed up as UPLOADED by 7ONTHEBLOCK from my homepage.

“Hmm… Mino. Oh, Mino!!!”

(picture credit bontheblock)

(He’s going to debut with the stage name “Tagoon” in a ballad group called BoM, which stands for “Blooming of Our Music”. See info here at allkpop).


Clicks the video and watches.

0:07 – … This voice… Like the soundtracks in movies with temples. Chilling. But pretty. And deep…

0:27 – THEY JUST SAID “HEY ***** MO ******” 0_0 !!!!!!! Mino?!?!!

0:33 – He raps like a boss 0_0…

(More responses below)

Continue reading